• Thu. Jun 20th, 2024

West Bengal Guide

A Complete Guide on Travel, People, Hotels, Schools and Others


West Bengal, located in the eastern part of India, is a vibrant state known for its rich cultural heritage, diverse landscapes, and a plethora of festivals. The state is divided into several districts, each with its unique history, geography, culture, language, and traditions. Let’s delve into the intricacies of West Bengal’s district divisions and explore the tapestry of this beautiful state.

History of District Division

The division of West Bengal into districts has evolved over centuries, influenced by historical events and administrative needs. During British colonial rule, the region was reorganized into several districts to streamline governance and revenue collection. Over time, the number of districts has changed, and the current division is the result of various administrative reforms carried out post-independence.

Geography of District Division

West Bengal is divided into 23 districts, each with distinct geographical features. The state is flanked by the Bay of Bengal to the south, which contributes to its coastal plains and the vast Sundarbans mangrove forest. Moving inland, the landscape transforms into fertile plains and plateaus, further giving way to the majestic Eastern Himalayas in the north.

Districts and Their Unique Aspects

  1. Alipurduar: A district known for its rich biodiversity and wildlife, including the famous Buxa Tiger Reserve.
  2. Bankura: An ancient district with historical significance, featuring terracotta temples and traditional art forms.
  3. Birbhum: Famous for its unique red soil, it is a cultural hub with vibrant folk festivals and fairs.
  4. Cooch Behar: Home to a royal heritage, with historical palaces and temples showcasing the rich cultural past.
  5. Dakshin Dinajpur: Known for its lush green landscapes and agricultural importance, especially in the cultivation of rice.
  6. Darjeeling: A picturesque hill station nestled in the Himalayas, famous for its scenic beauty and world-renowned tea gardens.
  7. Hooghly: Dotted with historical landmarks, including the Bandel Church and the Imambara of Hooghly.
  8. Howrah: A bustling industrial district and part of the Kolkata Metropolitan Area, with the iconic Howrah Bridge.
  9. Jalpaiguri: Known for its diverse landscapes, from lush tea gardens to dense forests, and as the gateway to North Bengal.
  10. Jhargram: A district with lush greenery and tribal culture, offering a glimpse into rural Bengal life.
  11. Kalimpong: Another charming hill town with stunning mountain views, lush greenery, and a tranquil ambiance.
  12. Kolkata: The capital city of West Bengal, known for its rich history, vibrant culture, and bustling markets.
  13. Malda: Famous for its mango orchards and historical remnants, including the ancient ruins of Gour.
  14. Murshidabad: A district with a rich historical significance and architectural marvels like Hazarduari Palace.
  15. Nadia: Known for its cultural heritage and religious sites, including the ISKCON Temple in Mayapur.
  16. North 24 Parganas: One of the most populous districts, with a mix of urban and rural landscapes, and the Dakshineswar Kali Temple.
  17. Paschim Bardhaman: An industrial district with significant coal and steel industries, contributing to the state’s economy.
  18. Paschim Medinipur: Known for its agricultural importance, with vast stretches of paddy fields and rural charm.
  19. Purba Bardhaman: Famous for its traditional art forms, including the Terracotta temples of Bishnupur.
  20. Purba Medinipur: A coastal district with beautiful beaches and religious sites like the Chandaneswar Temple.
  21. Purulia: Known for its unique topography, with red soil plateaus, and famous for the Chhau dance form.
  22. South 24 Parganas: Home to the famous Sundarbans mangrove forest, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  23. Uttar Dinajpur: Known for its agricultural practices, with the cultivation of jute being a prominent industry.